Irish Cyclists Nominated For 2022 Irish Independent Sportstar Of The Year 

Daire Feeley celebrates winning the 2022 Rás Tailteann 

Several Irish cyclists have been nominated for the 2022 Irish Independent Sportstar of the Year award. 

The Irish Independent will announce the winner of the award this month and has published a list of nominees here.  

Six Irish cyclists have been included among a star-studded list of nominees across a range of sports. 

2022 Rás Tailteann winner Daire Feeley was included after another successful road season that saw him finish top of the Cycling Ireland 2022 road rankings for the third year in a row. 

Irish paracycling stars were also recognised as Ronan Grimes, Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal were nominated after success in World and European Championships saw the team earn multiple medals on both on the road and the track last year.  

National team rider Eddie Dunbar was also included after picking up general classification wins in the Tour de Hongrie and Settimana Internazionale Coppi e Bartali in 2022. 

Fellow national teammate Sam Bennett was also nominated after his return to form in 2022 that saw him win two stages in the Vuelta a Espana.