Women's Intermediate League Round Three Results 

Doireann Killeen (Murphy Surveys Kilcullen CC) sprinted to victory in the third round of the Cycling Ireland Women's Commission Intermediate League 2023 at Kilcullen, County Kildare. (Photo: Brendan Culleton) 

Doireann Killeen took victory on home roads for the Kilcullen CC Murphy Geospatial club in round three of the Women's Intermediate League in Kilcullen on Sunday. 

The local rider powered up the finishing straight after 52 undulating kilometres on familiar Kildare roads to outsprint a reduced group contesting victory in the IVCA promoted event.

After a busy race Killeen edged round one winner and league leader Gráinne O'Callaghan for the win, the latter defending her lead in the league standings and holding onto to the leaders jersey for round four.

Third across the line was Aoife Reilly of Pinergy Orwell Wheelers to claim the final podium spot.

A fast early pace helped the leaders to catch and pass the IVCA race which had started immediately ahead before the re-energised 'vets' returned the compliment forcing a brief stoppage.

The tempo was soon re-established and attacks followed including a number of spirited efforts from Clodagh Keane of Clonard RC.

However, O'Callaghan, with the able assistance of team-mates including Aoife Reilly was not letting dangerous attacks develop and the lead group stayed together until the closing stages.

A group of two opened up a small advantage in the final kilometres before being overhauled in time for a group sprint.

Fourth in the final dash was Sienna O’Dwyer from Limerick CC with Suzanne White (Sorrento CC) fifth and Breda Murphy (Marble City Cyclers) sixth.

O'Callaghan retains the league lead with an enhanced advantage over her nearest challengers Sienna O'Dwyer and Doireann Killeen heading to the fourth and penultimate round in Wicklow next month.

Women's Intermediate League Round 3, Kilcullen 21st May 

1. Doireann Killeen (Kilcullen CC Murphy Geospatial) 

2. Gráinne O'Callaghan (Pinergy Orwell Wheelers)

3. Aoife Reilly (Pinergy Orwell Wheelers)

4. Sienna O’Dwyer (Limerick CC) 

5. Suzanne White (Sorrento CC) 

6. Breda Murphy (Marble City Cyclers)

League Standings after Round Three

1, Gráinne O'Callaghan  28 points 

2, Sienna O'Dwyer 13

3, Doireann Killeen 10

4, Breda Murphy 9

4, Suzanne White 9

6, Mia Smith 8

7, Elizabeth Kent 6 

7, Aoife Reilly 6

8, Eva Donovan 5 

9, Danya El Gahzel 4 

10, Meadhbh O’Neill 3 

10, Orla Hendron 3

 Next round: County Wicklow, 18th June promoted by Bray Wheelers

Report by Declan Quigley

Photos: Brendan Culleton