The fastest Irish cyclists will descend on County Wicklow for what promises to be an exciting day of racing at the Time Trial National Championships this Thursday, 30th September. 

The action will get under way at 10am with H1-H5 Handcycles followed by the C1-C5 solo events for a 23.41-kilometre race against the clock. The line-up includes Paralympic cyclists Gary O'Reilly and Richael Timothy. Portlaoise hand cyclist O’Reilly won bronze in Tokyo in the Time Trial while Timothy smashed her personal best times as she progresses rapidly.

The Senior Women's time trial will see Eve McCrystal return in a bid to defend the title she won last year. She will face stiff competition from talented riders including Fiona Mangan, recent winner of the National Road Series. Annalise Murphy, a three-time Olympian in Sailing and Rio 2016 Silver Medallist could be a surprise package as she enters in the Senior Women’s race. 

The Senior Men’s Time Trial will be hotly contested as several professional riders bid for National Honours. Ryan Mullen and Marcus Christie both put in strong performances at the UCI Road Time Trial World Championships in Belgium and will be among the pre-race favourites. Nicholas Roche and defending champion Conn McDunphy will also be contenders along with 2020 U23 Champion Ben Healy who has opted to declare as a Senior Elite and forgo the opportunity to defend his U23 title.

Follow the action across Cycling Ireland’s social media channels and watch full highlights on RTÉ2 on Tuesday, October 5th at 5pm or the RTÉ Player.

Race Manual 

Start List and Times 

Start Times & Categories 

10:01 - H1-H5 Handcycles, 23.41km

10:08 - C1-C5 Solo, 23.41km

10:16 - Junior Women, 23.41km

10:22 - Masters Women, 23.41km

11:00 - Tandem TT, 33.79km

11:04 - Junior Men, 33.79km

11:18 - Senior Women, 33.79km

11:32 - U23 Men, 33.79km

11:47 - Senior Men, 33.79km 

Route Maps 

Elite Men and Women, Junior Men, U23 Men and Tandems:

Junior Women, Masters Women, Paracycling C1-C5, H1-H5 Handcycle: