Team Ireland name thirty-three athletes to compete across seven sports in the EYOF including six cyclists

Sam Coleman (Cycling) and Bethany McAuley (Judo) named as the Permanent TSB Flagbearers to lead Team Ireland in the Opening Ceremony

The Permanent TSB Flagbearers will be Bethany McAuley (Judo) and Sam Coleman (Cycling) (Photo: Sportsfile)

13 July 2022

The Olympic Federation of Ireland has today named thirty-three athletes who will compete across seven sports in the Summer European Youth Olympic Festival (EYOF) later this month. The multi-sport event that is aimed at athletes aged 14-17 years, will take place in Banska Bystrica, Slovakia and will run from the 25-31 July 2022. 

Six riders have been named on the cycling team who will compete in both the Time Trial and Road Races. On the girls team, Áine Doherty (VC Glendale), Aliyah Rafferty (Island Wheelers) and Mya Doocey (Navan Road Club) will fly the flag for Ireland while the boys team consists of Patrick Casey (Anexo Group Race Team), Sam Coleman (Orchard CC) and Seth Dunwoody (Orchard CC). 

Left to right: Patrick Casey, Sam Coleman, Áine Doherty, Seth Dunwoody, Mya Doocey and Aliyah Rafferty (Photo: Sportsfile)


The EYOF is a prestigious event that plays an important role in the development of an athlete, replicating the Olympic Games model. It is run biennially, with the summer event ordinarily run on the alternate year to the winter EYOF. This year’s event was originally scheduled for July 2021 and was moved in line with the postponed Tokyo Olympics.


Announcing the team, Olympic Federation of Ireland Chef de Mission for the EYOF, Gavin Noble said, 


“The EYOF is the only major multisport event for the best young athletes in Europe and it marks an important step for Team Ireland athletes on our Olympic pathway. This is an exciting young group and I know that they will all learn a lot. The event is also very important to our Paris 2024 preparations as we experience, learn and debrief together as a staff team. I am very happy too with our coaching group and I know that this event will also serve them well as they continue to help develop our young talents in unison with club coaches all around Ireland.”


Additionally, Bethany McAuley (Judo) and Sam Coleman (Cycling) have been named as the flagbearers for the Irish team later this month, with Derry’s McAuley holding the honour of also being the first Irish Judoka to compete in the EYOF. The Permanent TSB Flagbearer Announcement took place at the official Team Day at the Sport Ireland Institute yesterday at an event which saw athletes, coaches, and parents gather. Acknowledging the role of parents, community, and clubs in preparing athletes for events like the EYOF, where they have the opportunity to shine and inspire communities around Ireland, Head of Corporate Affairs and Communications with Permanent TSB, Leontia Fannin, said,


“The sporting excellence demonstrated by these young athletes is an example of how drive, determination and resilience can achieve great heights. But of course, athletic success depends on the support of so many, and we would like to say particular thanks to the families, coaches, clubs, and communities that have come together to ensure that each athlete can achieve their best and raise the spirits of a nation. 


It is an incredible achievement to have been chosen to represent Team Ireland and we look forward to supporting these inspiring athletes as they compete in Slovakia at the end of July.”


The Irish team departs for Banska Bystrica on the 22 July, with competition starting on the 25 July 2022. The full list of athletes can be found here:

Cycling Team


Áine Doherty (Belfast) Time Trial and Road Race

Aliyah Rafferty (Dungannon) Time Trial and Road Race

Mya Doocey (Navan) Time Trial and Road Race

Patrick Casey (Manchester) Time Trial and Road Race

Sam Coleman (Craigavon) Time Trial and Road Race

Seth Dunwoody (Craigavon) Time Trial and Road Race


Liz Roche – Team Leader

Jamie Blanchfield – Coach

Adrian Delaney – Mechanic

Cycling Schedule

Tuesday, 26th July

Time Trials

Thursday, 28th July

Road Races