Road National Series Round Seven Preview 

Conn McDunphy (left) and Killian O'Brien (right) currently lead the men's and junior men's categories respectively (Image: Inpho)

The 2023 Road National Series concludes on Saturday, August 19th, with the seventh and final round taking place in Co. Down.  

The Alan Towell Memorial, hosted by Banbridge Cycling Club, forms a fitting finale to what has been a thrilling National Series as the contenders in each of the overall standings do battle. 

And both the men’s and women’s rankings will go down to the wire as both leaders enjoy a slim lead over their nearest challengers.  

Conn McDunphy leads Daire Feeley by 20 points heading into the final round, McDunphy knows that if he finishes at least fourth or betters Feeley, he’ll be crowned the overall winner. 

In the junior women’s rankings, Hannah Hayes boasts a 15-point lead over Shauna Finn while junior men’s leader Killian O’Brien is the only overall leader guaranteed to hold their position at the end of racing on Saturday. 

With a challenging circuit featuring some tough climbs, the final round of the 2023 Road National Series will ensure that the strongest riders prevail and be crowned overall series winners.  

In the women’s standings, Jemma Speers leads since round six, but knows that Caoimhe O’Brien, Jennifer Neenan and Aoife O’Brien all sit within 20 points of the lead – meaning the women’s rankings could go any way on Saturday. 

Here's everything you need to know about round six of the 2023 Road National Series.  

The Route  

The nature and layout of the Alan Towell Memorial circuit lends itself to spectators hoping to witness the action unfold on the road.   

With various vantage points lending themselves to easy access and opportunity to watch the racing in multiple locations along with the fact that the race is covering laps of a 30km loop means you won’t be waiting long before you see the speeding bunch of Ireland’s elite domestic men and women. 

The men’s race will take on four laps of the circuit in a total length of 133km while the women’s race will be over three laps of the circuit and a total of 104km. 

Race HQ And Start Time  

Race HQ is located at Dromore High School, 31 Banbridge Rd, Dromore BT25 1ND. 

All races are scheduled to roll out from 11:45am.


Quotes Corner  

Banbridge Cycling Club said: 

"Banbridge Cycling Club are once again thrilled to welcome the Cycling Ireland Road National Series to the beautiful roads of Co Down.  As a long-standing supporter of the National Series races which have produced some excellent racing and very worthy winners over the years, we enjoy hosting and welcoming the very best of Irish domestic road racing.” 
“For 2023 we are very proud to introduce the Alan Towell Memorial and the Alan Towell Memorial Cup to the event.  Alan contributed immensely to the club from a young age and in various roles. Hosting a national event in Alan’s memory is a fitting tribute to his valued contribution to Banbridge Cycling Club and to the sport of cycling.” 
“The challenging circuit faced by the riders is one that lends itself to spectators, with multiple viewing points and opportunities to jump between them mid race.  The new finish in Kinallen village is sure to add to the race's atmosphere and will ensure the winners are greeted with the welcome they deserve." 

Round Six Recap  

Linda Kelly and Daire Feeley picked up victories in round six of the 2023 Road National Series at the Mullingar Grand Prix on Sunday, July 16th.  

Hosted by Lakeside Wheelers, The Mullingar Grand Prix brought riders around the scenic roads of Multyfarnham and Lough Derravaragh in Co. Westmeath. 

And Jemma Speers took over the overall leader's jersey in the senior women's category while all other leaders held on to their jerseys ahead of the final round next month. 


You can read the full report from Round Six here.   

Current Standings  

Men's ranking    

1st - Conn McDunphy (Lucan CRC)    

2nd - Daire Feeley (All Human/VeloRevolution)   

3rd - Jason Kenny (UCD Cycling Club) 

Women's ranking     

1st – Jemma Speers (North Down CC)   

2nd – Caoimhe O’Brien (Belco Van Eyck)  

3rd - Jennifer Neenan (UCD Cycling Club) 

Junior men's ranking    

1st - Killian O’Brien (Orwell Wheelers)    

2nd - Willem O’Connor (JEGG-DJR Academy)    

3rd – Liam O’Brien (Fermoy CC)    

Junior women's ranking    

1st - Hannah Hayes (TC Racing)  

2nd - Shauna Finn (Arcane CT)     

3rd – Aine Doherty (VC Glendale)    

Full rankings are available here.  

Find out more about the 2023 Road National Series here. 

Entries are open here.