The Cyclocross National Championships are set to take place this weekend in the City of Armagh at the picturesque Palace Demesne. 

The 2022 Cyclocross National Championships, hosted by Square Wheelers CC and supported by ABC Council, has attracted a strong field of Irish riders. A total of 273 riders have entered across all championship categories from under 14 up to masters all competing for top honours and the coveted National Champions jersey. 

The 2022 edition will see Maria Larkin return in a bid to defend the title she won at the last Championships which took place in 2020; due to covid-19 the 2021 Championships did not take place. Larkin will face stiff competition from Provincial Champions Darcey Harkness, Stephanie Roche and Grace Young. 

The senior men’s champions jersey will rest on someone else’s shoulders this year with 2020 champion David Conroy not among the starters. There will be a number of riders to keep your eyes on including Chris McGlinchey who will be looking to upgrade his silver medal from 2020 to gold this year along with Provincial Champions Anthony Murray, Sean Nolan and Richard Maes.

Cyclocross has grown in popularity in recent years. The exciting and action packed discipline has appealed to youth riders in particular this year with 125 boys and girls from under 6 to under 12 registered for the support races. The most striking figures show a 71% increase in entries among under 14 and under 16 boys and girls from the 2020 Championships. The future of Cyclocross racing in Ireland is looking very bright. 

The racing gets underway on Saturday, January 8th with the non-championship youth support races followed by the under 14 and 16 girl’s and boy’s races. The junior, senior and masters races will take place on Sunday with live coverage of the senior men’s and women’s races from 12:30pm. Follow Sport and Cycling Ireland on social media for live coverage of the senior women’s and men’s races. Regular Eurosport commentator Declan Quigley will be on hand to call the action.

Start List

Full Schedule:

Saturday, 8th

FromEventUntilTime (mins)
10:15Registration opens13:25
10:15Youth course open for practice10:5540
10:15Main course open for practice12:30135
11:00Under 6s fun race11:052
11:10Under 8s race11:205
11:30Under 10s race11:4510
11:50Under 12s race12:1015
12:10Prize giving: Under 8s, 10s, and 12s12:2010
12:30U16, U14 girls called up to start grid12:4010
12:40U16 girls start 13:2030
12:40U14 girls start13:2030
13:25Prize giving: Under 14s and 16s13:3510
13:40U16, U14 boys called up to start grid13:5010
13:50U16 boys start14:3030
13:50U14 boys start14:3030
14:35Prize giving: Under 14s and 16s14:4510
14:30Main course open for practice16:0090
16:30Park closes

Sunday, 9th

FromEventUntilTime (mins)
09:00Registration opens14:00
09:00Course open for practice09:3030
09:30Riders called up to start grid09:4515
09:45Junior men's start time10:3040
10:35Prize giving: Junior men10:4510
10:30Course open for practice11:0030
11:00Riders called up to start grid 11:1515
11:15M40 men's start time12:1045
11:16M50 men's start time12:1045
11:17M60 men's start time12:1045
12:10Prize giving: M40, M50, M6012:2510
12:15Course open for practice12:3525
12:35Riders called up to start grid12:5015
12:50Women's start time13:4545
12:50Master's women start time13:4545
13:50Prize giving: Women14:0010
13:45Course open for practice14:1530
14:15Riders called up to start grid14:3015
14:30Senior men's start time15:4050-60
15:45Prize giving: Senior Men15:5510
16:30Park closes