Callaghan and Flanagan Crowned 2023 Downhill National Champions 

Meghan Flanagan en-route to victory at the Downhill National Championships (Credit: Atom Creates)

Greg Callaghan and Meghan Flanagan were crowned National Champions on Sunday, July 23rd at Glencullen Adventure Park. 

Hosted by GAP MTB, horrendous wet conditions greeted the riders on Sunday making the course that offered a mixture of technical track and large bike-park jumps even more challenging. 

As the rain bucketed down on Glencullen Adventure Park, riders used their practice time to fine tune their lines and come to terms with the slippery conditions ahead of their race runs. 

With 2022 Downhill National Champion Ronan Dunne opting not to race due to an injury, meant a new senior men’s champion would be crowned. 

Experienced Enduro rider, Greg Callaghan pulled out all the stops and claimed the senior men’s National title with a time of 2:00.47. Oisin O’Callaghan who produced the quickest time in seeding on Saturday was second quickest on race day clocking 2:01.62, while 2021 National Champion Jacob Dickson who has been out of action the last number of months due to injury rounded off the podium in 2:04.47. 

Greg Callaghan in action during the 2023 Downhill National Championships (Credit: Atom Creates)

Meghan Flanagan was quickest in the women’s category to retain the National title she won in Bree, Co. Wexford last year with a time of 2:40.98. Her nearest rival was Leah Maunsell with a time of 2:42.43, Shenna McKiverigan came home third in a time of 2:52.40. Hannah Mullin who set the quickest time on Saturday had a crash early on in her race run, knocking her chances of a podium finish. 

Callum Morris took a fine victory in the Junior men’s category. The first-year junior finished in 2:19.34 with his clubmate Robin Sim finishing in second place with 2:22.84 less than half a second quicker than Oscar Durston 2:23.38. 

In the U16 category, Ruairí Steele took an impressive win while Michal Michniacki set the best time in the U14 category.

In the masters categories, Chris Murphy won the M30 category, Ian Coates picked up the M40 win while the M50 category winner was Hugh Arthur.

Brendan Conroy won the open men’s category and Hannah Harvey won the open women’s category. 

Attention now switches to the second round of the Downhill National Series which takes place on 5th/6th August on Shronaboy Farm in Killarney, Co. Kerry, hosted by Tralee Bay MTB. Entries are open here.

Full results