2024 National Time Trial Championships Technical Changes

Following the review by the Technical Working Group of the 2023 National Time Trial Championships, in line with Cycling Ireland Technical Regulation T10.A1.11 – there will be some changes to the Championship events to be promoted in 2024.

Yellow cards

Where the number of starters does not meet the minimum requirement as set out in the table below, the Championship will receive a yellow flag warning. In the following year, if the same championship were to receive a 2nd yellow flag, the championship will be moved to the Lapsed National Championship list.

In respect of Masters Championships there is no amalgamation of age bands. If the Championship does not attract the minimum number of starters it will follow the above process for yellow flagging.

The following categories have received a yellow card ahead of 2024:

M40 Championships (Male) - 6 starters required.

Youth Championships (All categories) - 6 starters required.

U23 Men

In 2023 we unfortunately only had 5 starters in the Men U23 Time Trial – this was the same number as in 2022 when the event received its first yellow flag. The event has now received 2 yellow flags in consecutive years and the event has become a Lapsed Championship.

Therefore for 2024 there will be a single Time Trial Championship for Senior Men – comprising Elite and U23 riders, as is the case with the Senior Women’s Time Trial.


In 2023, as in 2022 we again had no starters in the Able-Bodied Tandem Championship and this also becomes a Lapsed Championship.

This does not affect the Para Tandem Championship – as again in 2023 we reached the minimum quota in Para to avoid this event receiving a Yellow Flag or becoming a Lapsed Championship.

Therefore for 2024 there will be no Tandem Time Trial Championships for AB but the Para event will continue for Blind Tandems as normal.

Full document on the 2024 National Time Trial Championships technical changes is available here. 

Any queries on the technical changes for the 2024 Time Trial National Championships can be sent to paul.watson@cyclingireland.ie.