2023 Enduro National Championships Preview

Action from during the 2022 Enduro National Championships (Image: AtomCreates)

Excitement is building ahead of the 2023 Enduro National Championships, taking place in Ballyhoura, Co. Limerick, this weekend.

Held over August 19th and 20th, the mountain bike cycling discipline will be at its high octane best as Ireland's best riders do battle.

Enduro is a form of downhill mountain biking that is both challenging and enjoyable. An Enduro race essentially consists of timed downhill or “special” stages and untimed transfer sections which can be rode at a rider’s leisure.

A new set of national champions will be crowned on Sunday, with the event doubling as Round 3 of the Vitus Gravity Enduro Ireland series while non-championship mash-up races will also be held on Saturday, August 19th.

The championships also serve as a round of the Enduro World Series (EWS) qualifiers. Riders require a Cycling Ireland licence (or equivalent) with a UCI ID number to gain points for the EWS.

Here's everything you need to know ahead of the 2023 Enduro National Championships: 


Ballyhoura Mountain Bike Trails, Ardpatrick, Kilmallock, County Limerick, Ireland.

Race village is located here with sign on and rider facilities. 

Note: Parking is available with a €5 parking fee per day charged by Coillte.


Saturday 19th August

Registration – 9am to 12pm.

Mash Up Race – 9.30am

4 Stages – 1, 3, 4, 5 and power stage for ebike in any order, as many times as you like within 5 hours.

Best run on each stages counts

All categories

Championship Practice – 9am to 5pm

Stage 2, 6 from 9am to 1pm

Stage 1, 3, 4, 5 from 1pm to 5pm

All categories

Awards Presentation – from 3pm onwards

Sunday 20th August

Registration – 9am to 12pm. 

Kids Experience – 9.30am to 2pm

8 -11 year-olds

3 stages in any order

Timed runs but no overall ranking.

Championship Races – 9.30am

6 stages in order, one run no repeats

Ebike100 7 stages, Ebike200 14 stages.

5.5 hrs cut off time

All categories.

Awards Presentation – 4.30pm


Senior men 1994-2002 (1974-1993)

Women 14+ 1940-2009

M30 men 1984-1993

M40 men 1974-1983

M50 men 1940-1973

U21 men (17-20) 2003-2006

Junior men (14-16) 2007-2009


Live results will be posted here.