2022 Cycling Connacht Award Ceremony

Cycling Connacht Sporting Rep Mick Raune, Tom Regan of Seven Springs CC, Cycling Connacht Male road rider of the year, and President of Cycling Ireland Tom Daly

The 2022 Cycling Connacht Awards took place at the Westport Country Lodge on Saturday, November 19th. 

With the opening round of the inaugural Cyclo-cross National Series hosted on the hotel’s grounds by Westport Covey Wheelers on Saturday morning, focused switched to the award ceremony that evening. 

Several awards were handed out during the ceremony, including four special achievement awards and two lifetime achievement awards in a great social occasion for the cycling community in the province. 

Male rider of the year (All disciplines) 

Tom Regan, Seven springs CC 

Female rider of the year (All disciplines) 

Mary Corless, Challenge CC 

Adult Club of the year 

Galway Bay CC 

Club of the year Youth 

Yeats CC Sligo 

Adult Coach/Manager of the year 

Greg Monaghan, Seven Springs CC 

Youth Coach/Manager of the year

Eimear Flannery, Western Lakes CC 

Event of the year Road race 

Ras Maigheo 2 day, hosted by Westport Covey Wheelers 

Leisure event of the year 

Lough Key Classic, hosted by Curlieu wheelers 

Off road event of the year 

Galway Gravel Grind, hosted by Galway Bay CC 

Volunteer of the year 

Cally Savage, Northwest MTB 

Special achievement awards 

Daire Feeley for The Ras, Roscommon 
Ronan Grimes, Paralympian 
Richael Timothy, Paralympian 
Mike Gilligan, Transplant games, Tuam CC 

Lifetime achievement awards

John Ferguson, Cunga CC 
The Mannion brothers, Paddy and Jimmy, Corrib wheelers and Tuam CC 


Cycling Connacht Leisure series 

Male: Shaun Rule, Easkey 
Female: Ann Marie O Regan, Inishfree Wheelers 
Club: Inishfree Wheelers