R2 Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race

R2 Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race

The Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race takes the Cycling Ireland National Road Series to Blarney, County Cork on Sunday, April 19, hosted by Blarney Cycling Club.

The 13th running of this Munster one-day will start 1km away from race headquarters at Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal on Old Blarney Road, rolling out at 12noon to give the Men's National Road Series field a 127km test, and the Women's 72km full of sharp climbs.

The winner of the Men's National Road Series race will lift the Donal Crowley Memorial Trophy, while the Fiona Meade Perpetual Trophy goes to the winner of the Women's National Road Series race, an award named to honour Blarney's former Irish National Road Racing Champion.

Who was Donal Crowley?

The Blarney man passed away in a accident on the road back in 1999, having more than left his mark on the Irish cycling community in his 44 short years.

He and brother Patsy rode for Blarney CC, this weekend's hosts, and were instrumental in coaching numerous underage and junior champions, including Junior Tour of Ireland winners, and stars that went on to race for Ireland.

Donal's most famous days came in 1982 when he won a second successive Blarney 3 Day, and two 
Stages of Rás Tailteann - into Drogheda and in Dublin's Phoenix Park.


Results - Men's Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race Finishers

  1. Sean Hahessy - Team Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
  2. Conor Hennebry - Team Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
  3. Jamie Blanchfield - Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  4. Matthew Sparrow - Team Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
  5. Colm Sheahan - Blarney Cycling Club
  6. Arminas Meskaushas - Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  7. Cathal Purcell - Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  8. John Brosnan - Killarney CC
  9. James O'Sullivan - Blarney Cycling Club
  10. Richard Cleverly - Sliabh Luachra
  11. Tom Shanahan - Limerick CC

Results - Women's Fiona Meade Trophy Finishers

  1. Mia Griffin - TC Racing Team
  2. Eve McCrystal - STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team
  3. Eileen Burns - Ballymena Road Cycling Club
  4. Grace Young - STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team
  5. Katharine Smyth - Ballymena Road Cycling Club
  6. Agnieszka Wozniak - STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team
  7. Lucy O'Donnell - O'Leary Kanturk Stone
  8. Maeve Gallagher - Castlebar CC
  9. Yvonne Doran - Scott Orwell Wheelers
  10. Maura Claffey - UCD Cycling Club
  11. Gabriella Homer - Team On Form
  12. Leah Desmond - Bandon CC
  13. Laura Campbell - Ballymena Road Cycling Club
  14. Catherine Mahoney - UCD Cycling Club
  15. Ewa Kuras - Arcane Cycling Team
  16. Monica Marconi - Scott Orwell Wheelers
  17. Michelle McKinney - Galway Bay CC
  18. Arron Fox - Scott Orwell Wheelers


Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race Details

Date: Sunday, April 19

Venue: Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal, Blarney, County Cork

Sign-on: Opens 10am; Closes 11.30am

Start time: Rolling starts from 12noon

Route map: Click here for details

Race distances:


  • Men's National Road Series A1/A2 - 127km 
  • Women's National Road Series - 72km
  • Supporting A3/Juniors Race - 99km
  • Supporting A4 Race - 72km




  • National Road Series Points First 20
  • National Road Series Team Classification Points First 20
  • First 8 across line
  • First unplaced A2
  • First unplaced Junior


Follow The National Road Series Live @CINatRoadSeries


Former Donal Crowley Winners

There have been 12 runnings of the Men's elite Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race. Here are the winners:


Year Winner Team
 2019 Sean Hahessy   Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
 2018 Sean Lacey   Viner-Caremark-Pactimo
 2017 Cathal Moynihan Tralee Manor West
 2016 Cathal Moynihan  Tralee Manor West
 2015 Paidi O'Brien Osborne-McCarthy
 2014 Eddie Dunbar O'Leary Stone Kanturk
 2013 Michael Crowley Planet Tri Racing Team
 2012 Mark Nugent Waterford Racing CC
 2011 Edward Barry Blarney Cycling Club
 2010 Brendan McLoughlin Blarney Cycling Club
 2009 Robin Kelly Comeragh CC
 2006 Tim Barry Dan Morrissey Carrick Wheeler


The Women's standalone race at the Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race is a much newer event, boosted by its place in the National Road Series.


Year Winner Team
 2019 Mia Griffin   TC Racing Team
 2018 Eve McCrystal Garda Cycling Club
 2015 Fiona Meade Blarney Cycling Club


  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Cycling Superstore
  • Eventmaster
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland