Cycling Ireland National Road Series 2019

Cycling Ireland National Road Series 2019

The Cycling Ireland National Road Series is offering €600 to the winners of both the Men's and Women's General Classification, amongst several improvements for 2019.

Run by the Cycling Ireland Road Commission, this year's National Road Series points structure has been changed to increase competitiveness, and a new Team Classification added, with points in that competition adding up towards an overall prize of €300.

There will be seven rounds, Men's and Women's races again being run on the same courses, with Irish custom clothing company Spin 11 providing Leaders' Jerseys.


During the series, the Road Commission will scout for its Men's and Women's teams for the Kreiz Breizh Elites Road Races in Brittany. That's the main target for their road racing team, but the Road Commission will again be selecting riders based on National Road Series performances for other races throughout the road racing season.




What Is The National Road Series?

Cycling Ireland's National Road Series is a seven-race road racing league, open to Men with A1/A2 licenses and Women who hold full Competition Licenses.

Each race, held across the four provinces of Ireland, is a standalone, one-day road race, but National Road Series points are awarded to the first 20 riders across the line in the Men's and Women's Elite Race.

The points accumulate, with double points offered at the final round, and the riders with the most points at the top of the National Road Series General Classification after that race are crowned champion.

The series brings together some of Ireland's finest one-day cycle races, encouraging riders to compete consistently throughout the season.

The aim of the National Road Series is to increase the standard of road racing in Ireland and to give domestic riders a chance to develop their potential.

National Road Series Races 2019

In 2019, the Cycling Ireland National Road Series takes in seven rounds from March to September, visiting all corners of Ireland.

DateNational Road Series RaceLocationHost Club
Mar 31 Des Hanlon Memorial Road Race Carlow Carlow Road Cycling Club
Apr 14 Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race Blarney Blarney Cycling Club
Jun 1 Blair International Red Hand Trophy Ballymena Ballymena Road Club
Jul 14 Mullingar Grand Prix Mullingar Lakeside Wheelers
Aug 10 John Beggs Memorial Road Race Banbridge Banbridge Cycling Club
Aug 31 The Laragh Classic Laragh St. Tiernan's Cycling Club
Sep 22 Cork Grand Prix
Cork Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo


National Road Series Team Classification

For 2019, the Cycling Ireland National Road Series will introduce a Team Classification, with €300 up for grabs to the winning team.

How Does It Work?


  • Points will be amassed on the first team riders in each category.
  • The team classification shall be calculated on the basis of the sum of the three highest placings in each round.
  • Where two or more teams have the same points, then the following criteria shall be applied in order until the teams are separated.
    • (a) The sum of the places acquired by the three best-placed riders in the event.
    • (b) The placing of their best rider in the event.


National Road Series Points 2019

Points for the National Road Series General Classification are awarded down to 20th place in both Men's and Women's races. There has been a change to the format for 2019:
1st 40 11th 17
2nd 35 12th 16
3rd 32 13th 15
4th 30 14th 14
5th 28 15th 13
6th 26 16th 12
7th 24 17th 11
8th 22 18th 10
9th 20 19th 9
10th 18 20th 8

When two or more riders with the same points the following criteria will be applied in order until the riders are separated.

1.       Number of series wins
2.       Place obtained in the last series ridden.


National Road Series 2019 Prize Fund

The Cycling Ireland National Road Series awards equal prizes to the Men's and Women's series winners, with cash prizes handed down to 10th place.

Final Position    
1st €600
2nd €400
3rd €300
4th €220
5th €200
6th €160
7th €130
8th €120
9th €110
10th €100
TOTAL €2,340


Past National Road Series Winners

The Cycling Ireland National Road Series began in its current format for men in 2015, and began running concurrently with the women's equivalent in 2017. Before that, the Women's National League was a separate entity, beginning in 2008.

Year Winner Team
 2018 Conor Hennebry
Team Viner Caremark Pactimo
 2017 Sean Lacey
Aqua Blue Sport Academy
 2016 Sean Lacey Team Aqua Blue
 2015 Bryan McCrystal


Year Winner Team
 2018 Aine Donegan
Scott Orwell Wheelers
 2017 Eve McCrystal Garda Cycling Club
 2016 Claire McIlwaine
Phoenix Cycling Club
 2015 Aideen Keenan
Team DID Electrical
 2014 Amy Brice
Chain Reaction Cycles
 2013 Anne Dalton
Team DID Electrical
 2012 Sara Ortiz
Black Rose Racing
 2011 Sandra Fitzgerald
Lucan Road Cycling Club
 2010 Wendy Bates
Lakeside Wheelers
 2009 Michelle Geoghegan
Orwell Wheelers
 2008 Fiona Meade
St Finbarr's



  National Road Series 2019 Calendar
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • bluecubes
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland