Vereker and McLaughlin victorious at Para-cycling

Road National Championships 

The first of the 2024 Para-cycling National Championships took place on Saturday, 15th of June. The Road National Championships were held in Corkagh Park, Co. Dublin and attracted large entries. 

Riders and supporters were on site from early morning, and despite one or two showers the rain held off, making for a great day. 

The Championships consisted of three combined races, with riders being handicapped in accordance with their grading. 

The first race of the morning was the C1-5 Combined. Victory went to Ronan Grimes (C4), William Clifford (C3) was second and Cormac O’Callaghan (C1) completed the podium. 

The second race of day was the H1-5 Combined. Unfortunately, there were only two competitors in the race. Declan Slevin (H3) won, and Seamus Wall (H4) was second. 

The final race of the day, and attracting a large entry field, was the W/MB Combined. An incredible ride from Damien Vereker and Mitchell McLaughlin saw them take victory. Josephine Healion and Eve McCrystal were second and Ciaran O’Toole and Brian Morrissey were third. 

Delighted with the high number of participants, Para-cycling Commission Chairperson Eamonn Byrne said: 

“Having ridden in these Championships myself over the last eight years or so, and having run them last year, genuinely this is the most riders we’ve had. We changed the format last year to make it a bit more competitive with the handicapping. 

“It was good last year but it worked out even better this year. It was the closest solo race we’ve had in years. Normally they would let someone up the road to catch them but running them together means they have somebody to chase.

“It was a shame about the handbikes. It is what it is, we had two people get sick over the last week. Overall, it was a really good day and the weather even held out for us!”

The action continues tomorrow with the Para-cycling Track National Championships taking place in Sundrive Velodrome, Co. Dublin. 

Schedule for Track National Championships – June 16th

10:15am: Flying 200m – C1-5 & W/MB

10:45am: 500m/1km TT – C1-5 & W/MB

11:40am: Individual Pursuit – C1-5 & W/MB

12:30pm: Scratch Race – C1-5

1pm: Medal Ceremony