Javascript is vital for the advanced features in this website. Please enable or upgrade your browser
9 Irish athletes to compete in UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships

For the first time in almost 16 months Ireland’s paracycling squad will compete for medals at a World Championships. The extended break from competitive action has not deterred athletes as they remained focused on their preparation and long-term development.

The UCI Paracycling Road World Championships takes place in Cascais, Portugal from June 09 – 13. Irish athletes will compete in both Road Race and Time Trial events, and many will be targeting medal winning performances. The team includes multiple Paralympic Champions, World Champions and World Medallists all aiming to impress just 3-mounts out from the Paralympic Games. 

Cycling Ireland National Coach, Neill Delahaye commented;

“The athletes are really looking forward to the upcoming World Championships.”
“The training process has been intensive for a long time now so getting the opportunity to translate that work into racing against the World’s best is something everyone is keenly looking forward to. The impact of covid-19 has restricted racing opportunities globally and made planning very challenging this year, so the upcoming World Championships has an increased importance in the context of Tokyo Paralympic selection and preparation.”

Speaking about the route for the World Championships, Delahaye added:

“The parcours on the Estoril Moto Circuit in Casacic, Portugal is reasonably comparable to Fuji Speedway, where the Tokyo Paralympic Games take place. This provides an opportunity to refine our performance planning for the Games.”

IRELAND SQUAD - UCI Paracycling Road World Championships, Cascais, Portugal, June 09 – 13.

Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal - WB Road Race, WB Time Trial. Damien Vereker and Marcin Mizgajski - MB Road Race, MB Time Trial. Chris Burns – MC2 Road Race, MC2 Time Trial. Ronan Grimes – MC4 Road Race, MC4 Time Trial. Richael Timothy – WC3 Road Race, WC3 Time Trial. Gary O’Reilly – MH5 Road Race, MH5 Time Trial. Declan Slevin – MH3 Road Race, MH3 Time Trial.

Further details on the 2021 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships can be found at or by following @UCI_paracycling