Time Trial National Series Round 1

Credit: Toby Watson

Marcus Christie (Banbridge CC) and Eva Brennan (UCD Cycling Club) took top honours in the opening round of the new Time Trial National Series held in Dungannon, Co Tyrone hosted by Island Wheelers Cycling Club. 

Christie finished the course in a time of 50:37 beating Conn McDunphy's (EvoPro Racing) time of 51:04. Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport) claimed the final spot on the podium with a time of 51:52. 

Brennan proved fastest in the women's category winning in a time of 1:06:10. Masters rider, Ciara Havern (Newry Wheelers) was next fastest just two seconds off Brennan's time. Katie Neill ( TC Racing) and Maria Mc Allister (Island Wheelers CC) finished second and third respectively in the senior women's category. 

In the junior men's race, Conal Scully (Carlow RCC) claimed the top spot on the podium clocking a time of 52:39, beating Adam Rafferty (US Colombiers) and Liam O'Brien (Fermoy CC). 

The National Series features four rounds located in all four provinces and caters to all categories, including Masters. North Tipperary Wheelers plays host to Round 2 of the series on June 4th. 

Images by Jerome Rafferty

Full results 

Top 3 results

Senior Men
Marcus Christie - Banbridge CC 50:37
Conn McDunphy - EvoPro Racing 51:04
Lindsay Watson - Powerhouse Sport 51:52

Senior Women
Eva Brennan - UCD Cycling Club 1:06:10
Katie Neill - TC Racing 1:09:56
Maria McAllister - Island Wheelers CC 1:11:49

Junior Men
Conal Scully Carlow RCC 52:39
Adam Rafferty US Colombiers 53:49
Liam O’Brien Fermoy CC 55:30

Junior Women
Katie Reilly - Orwell Wheelers 1:12:12

Women Masters 
Ciara Havern - Newry Wheelers 1:06:12
Ciara Kinch - Orwell Wheelers 1:07:41
Karen Hull - Phoenix CC 1:09:42

Masters 40
Erwin McKee - Banbridge CC 55:36
Sean Featherstone - Newry Wheelers 55:55
Richard McBride - Banbridge CC 59:03

Masters 50
Philip Loughlin - Banbridge CC 58:41
Paul Noble - Slaney CC 59:38
Paul Whyte - Seven Springs 1:00:34

Masters 60
Kevin McCrossan - Four Masters CC 1:04:43
Mark Kelly - Greenmount CA 1:07:00
Carl Fullerton - Donegal Bay CC 1:16:01