Junior and U23 European Track Cycling Championships Results 

17th - 22nd August

A total of 13 riders represented Ireland at the UEC Junior and U23 European Track Cycling Championships from 17th to 22nd August in Apeldoorn, the Netherlands. The team comprised of eight junior and five U23 riders. 

On the opening day of competition, Lara Gillespie claimed silver in the Individual Pursuit at the U23 European Track Cycling Championships. This is Gillespie’s sixth medal at a Europeans, her first at U23 level. 

Gillespie was quickest in the qualifying round setting a time of 3:34.326. In the gold-medal ride off, Gillespie faced Italian rider Silvia Zanardi. Gillespie was in the lead by the end of the first kilometre and retained her lead throughout the second kilometre however, the Italian rider produced a blistering last kilometre crossing the line in 3:33.359, finishing ahead of Gillespie (3:36.804).   

During the week riders competed in a number of events gaining valuable experience competing at a major event.

Full Results: 

Men’s U23

Harvey Barnes – 15th 1km TT | 16th Elimination Race | 20th Sprint 

Chris Donald – 16th Elimination Race | 22nd 1km TT 

Cian Keogh – 14th Scratch Race | 18th Individual Pursuit 

Women’s U23 

Lara Gillespie – 2nd Individual Pursuit | 10th Points Race 

Gaby Homer – 7th Individual Pursuit | 11th Scratch Race | 13th 500m TT | 15th Elimination Race

Junior Men

Stefan Caulfield Dreier – 18th Omnium | 27th Individual Pursuit

Odhran Doogan -  15th Scratch Race | 17th 1km TT | 25th Individual Pursuit | 12th Madison

Niall McLoughlin -  14th 1km TT | 12th Madison 

Patrick O’Loughlin – 18th Points Race | 18th Elimination Race

Team Pursuit – 12th 

Junior Women

Erin Creighton – 14th Individual Pursuit | 14th Points Race | 15th Omnium 

Caoimhe May – 19th 500m TT | 16th Scratch Race

Maia Simmons – 15th 500m TT | 21st Individual Pursuit 

Katie Neill 

Team Pursuit – 8th