Image: Morgan McHugh

The Cycling Ireland Hill Climb National Championships took place on Sunday, 10th October in Moycullen, Galway. A tough 2.44 kilometre climb faced participants organised by Gaeltacht CC.

Joel Luke (UCD Cycling Club) was crowned the 2021 National Hill Climb Champion by the narrowest of margins with a time of 4:48.56 less than one-tenth of a second quicker than Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport) with a time of 4:48.62. Connor Kissane (Killarney Cycling Club) finished third in a time of 4:54.10. 

In the M40 category, Stephen Butler (St. Finbars CC) took top honours completing the course in 5:05.12 while Jerry McCarthy (Tralee Manor West BC) and Jimmy Flynn (Cuchulainn CC) claimed the top spots in the M50 and M60 categories respectively. 

Full results and times available here

National Hill Climb TT

1. Joel Luke (UCD Cycling Club) 4.48.56

2. Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport) 4.48.62

3. Conor Kissane (Killarney Cycling Club) 4:54.10

M40 Men Hill Climb

1. Stephen Butler (St. Finbarrs CC) 5.05.12

2. Dermot Radford _Club Rothaiochta Na Sionainne) 5.09.36

3. Stuart Mc Caughey (Phoenix CC) 5.11.13

M50 Men Hill Climb

1.  Jerry McCarthy (Tralee Manor West BC) 5.29.08

2. Eamonn Byrd  (Dublin Wheelers) 5.43.62

3 Shaun Kelly (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) 5.49.52

M60 Men Hill Climb

1. Jimmy Flynn (Cuchulainn CC) 6.06.78

2. Kenneth Boylan (Lakeland) 6.13.68

3. Michael Cusack (Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club) 6.36.11