Armitage and Buller dominate Criterium National Championships 

(Photo Credit: Feargal Murray)

Megan Armitage (IBCT) and John Buller (Amicale Cycliste Bisontine) claimed the 2022 Criterium National Championship titles after beating their respective fields comfortably in Kells, Co. Meath. 

Hosted by Moynalty Cycling Club, the Criterium Championships took place on a 700 metre around Kells town centre. The short circuit made for some thrilling racing for spectators and riders alike. 

Megan Armitage claimed her first National title in style soloing to victory after lapping the field twice. Armitage got clear on her own on the third lap and steadily increased her lead on a chasing group of four and the rest of the field. 

The battle for second and third place was decided amongst chasing group which consisted of Cleo Harvey  (Dublin Wheelers), Aoife O’Brien (Torelli-Assure-Cayman Islands-Scimitar), Ciara Kelly (Velo Performance) and Ella Doherty (UCD Cycling Club).

In the sprint for the finish, Harvey and O'Brien secured the silver and bronze medals respectively. 

(Photo Credit: Feargal Murray)

In the men's race, John Buller went clear of the bunch and opened up a nice lead just 20 minutes into the race which he maintained for the remainder of the race. 

Local rider, Luke Smith (Moynalty CC) finished next to claim the silver medal ahead of Paul-Antoine Hagan (Banbridge CC) in the sprint for the finish. 



1. Megan Armitage - IBCT

2. Cleo Harvey - Dublin Wheelers

3. Aoife O'Brien - Torelli-Assure-Cayman Islands-Scimitar

4. Ella Doherty - UCD Cycling Club

5. Ciara Kelly - Velo Performance

6. Jemma Speers - North Down CC

7. Claire Ní Reachtagáin - Sundrive Track Team

1. John Buller - Amicale Cycliste Bisontine
2. Luke Smith - Moynalty Cycling Club
3. Paul-Antoine Hagan - Banbridge CC
4. Daire Feeley - All human/VeloRevolution Racing Team
5. Liam Curley - EvoPro Racing
6. Christopher Mc Glinchey - Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus
7. Lindsay Watson - Powerhouse Sport
8. Leo Doyle - TWC TEMPO Veldhoven
9. Jack Bernard Murphy - EvoPro Racing
10. Mitchell Mc Laughlin - EvoPro Racing