Cross Country Mountain Biking National Championships

After the Covid-19 hiatus that caused the cancellation of last years events, Cross Country Mountain Biking returned this weekend to Newry, Co Down, for the Irish XC Mountain Bike National Championships. 


Backed by Chain Reaction Cycles, the events crowned 12 new champions who travelled from as far afield as Kerry, Sligo and England, showing that the sport is still thriving in Ireland.

Photos by Gareth Gibbons

Full Results here

Podium Results:

Senior Men

1st - David Montgomery ( Dromara Cycling Club)

2nd - Gareth McKee ( Banbridge CC)

3rd - Lee Harvey ( VC Glendale)


Junior Men

1st - Dean Harvey ( VC Glendale)

2nd - Ruairi Coghlan ( Scott Quanta Racing)

3rd - Sam Bolger (Killarney Cycling Club)



1st - Ciara McManus ( Un-attached Ulster)

2nd - Niamh McKiverigan ( Scott Quanta Racing)

3rd - Darcey Harkness ( VC Glendale)


Masters 30

1st - Richard Maes (All human/VeloRevolution Racing Team)

2nd - Daragh McCarter ( Spellman-Dublin Port)

3rd - Timothy O'Regan (Team Worc)


Masters 40 

1st - Glyn O'Brien (Chain Reaction Cycles) 

2nd - Colm McGarvey (EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles) 

3rd - Barry Convery (Newry Wheelers CC)


Masters 50

1st - Robin Seymour (Team Worc)

2nd - Kieran McKenna (Un-attached Ulster)

3rd - Vinnie Fitzsimon (Team Worc)


Under 16 Boys

1st - Travis Harkness (VC Glendale)

2nd - Liam O'Brien (Fermoy Cycling Club)

3rd -Jake White (IMBRC)


Under 16 Girls

1st - Aine Doherty (VC Glendale)

2nd - Katie Reilly (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club)

3rd - Zoe Lyndsay (TC Racing)


Under 14 Boys

1st - Curtis McKee (VC Glendale)

2nd - Oisin May (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club)

3rd - Ryan Daly (Scott Quanta Racing)


Under 14 Girls

1st - Greta Lawless (Team WORC)

2nd - Faith Robinson (Bray Wheelers)

3rd - Erin McCormack (Ballina Cycling Club)


Under 12 Boys

1st - Caleb McGreevy (Apollo Cycling Team)

2nd - Rian McCrystal (Bellurgan Wheelers)

3rd - Fionn Crinion (IMBRC)


Under 12 Girls

1st - Aoife Craig (VC Glendale)

2nd - Emer Heverin (Kinning Cycles Cycling Club)

3rd - Lacey Aicken Johnson (North Down CC)