

# 2024 Cycling Ireland Esports National Championships Saturday 10<sup>th</sup> February 2024

#### **Technical Guide**

Welcome to the 2024 Cycling Ireland Esports National Championships Technical Guide. Following a successful demonstration event in 2022, the Esports National Championships now holds the status of an approved National Championship. This guide outlines the event overview, regulations and qualification process.

## **Rules & Regulations**

This event shall be run under the <u>Technical Rules and Regulations of Cycling</u> <u>Ireland</u> at all times.

This technical guide has been produced, in collaboration with existing guides produced by Zwift, in use for their own Cycling Esports events. Please use this technical guide as your primary resource for all event information, unless otherwise stated.

An independent commissaire panel will oversee the event. The panel will be responsible for upholding the fairness and integrity of the event as an approved Cycling Ireland National Championship.

Event contact details: events@cyclingireland.ie

Event Organiser: Aaron Johnson (Cycling Ireland Events Coordinator)

Chief Commissaire: Paul Watson (UCI International Commissaire)

#### Verification

All riders must adhere to the mandatory pre- and post- ride verification checks.

Pre-verification checks will be sent to all riders by Monday 5<sup>th</sup> February and must be returned within 48 hours.

Post-verification checks will be requested immediately after the race.

Failure to provide adequate data, or outside of the required timeframe will result in the rider being removed from the event.

The independent commissaire panel withholds the right to remove a rider from competition at any point.

## **Championship Categories**

- Cycling Esports National Championships (Open)
- Cycling Esports Womens National Championships Both categories will be combined Junior, Senior and Masters

#### **Event Timetable**

	Esports - Women	Esports – Open
Race Day Weigh-in	12:00	12:00
<b>Enter Start Pen</b>	13:35	15:05
Race Start	14:05	15:35
Podium Interviews	17:00	17:00

#### Course

Мар	Scotland
Course	Rolling Highlands
Number of Laps	3
Total Distance	31.9km

#### Registration

Register here: https://eventmaster.ie/event/preview/A95dsjlIlv

By entering the event via Eventmaster, this <u>does not</u> guarantee acceptance into the National Championships. All riders will be notified of acceptance/rejection by Tuesday 6<sup>th</sup> February.

Entries close: Sunday 4<sup>th</sup> February

All riders will be sent a link to an unlisted Zwift event, upon acceptance of entry.

#### **Eligibility**

Under Cycling Ireland Technical Regulation T10.A1.29, the following Nationality eligibility will be applied.

The following riders may compete in a National Championship:

- (a) Members of Cycling Ireland with the relevant Competition Licence and an IRL Nationality
- (b) Members of a UCI affiliated federation with an IRL Nationality on their licence

# **Rules of Racing**

- Use your own Zwift account and paired with Zwift Power account.
- Your Zwift name must match the name given to your UCI Federation.
- Use your real height & weight.
- Calibrate your trainer and power meter.
- Make sure primary equipment is paired to Zwift game client
- Make sure secondary equipment is paired to cycling computer

# Qualification

Riders will be eligible to compete through one of three qualification methods:

#### **Q1** = Zwift GP

Any rider that has competed in a min. of <u>2 rounds</u> of the 23/24 Zwift GP will automatically be eligible.

#### $\mathbf{Q2} = CI \times RWB \text{ Winter Series}$

Open = Any rider that has competed in a min. of  $\underline{3 \text{ rounds}}$  of the CI x RWB Winter Series  $\underline{A \text{ Category}}$  will be eligible

Women = Any rider that has competed in a min. of 3 rounds of the CI x RWB Winter Series C or higher will be eligible.

#### **Q3** = Wild Card

Any rider that has not automatically qualified via Q1 or Q2, must enter via Wild Card (Q3).

A complete list of qualified riders via Q1 + Q2 can be found in Appendix A.

Wild card allocation will be decided by the independent commissaire panel.

# **In-Grame Requirements**

TT Bikes	TT bikes are disabled - riders are not allowed to use a TT bike in the events. If riders have a TT bike when they join the pen - they will be forced onto a Zwift Steel Bike.
Neutralised Equipment	All Bikes and Wheels will be neutralised - they will all perform the same and bike/wheel selection will have no impact on the speed of a rider.
Rider Kit	There will not be a specific kit forced onto the riders. Riders will have an open choice of kits.
Steering Disabled	No - steering will be disabled for all users - riders will still be able to use Play controllers to enable in game actions like triggering PowerUps and changing camera angles.
Braking Disabled	No - braking will be disabled for all users - riders will still be able to use Play controllers to enable in game action like changing camera angles.
Trainer Difficulty	Trainer difficulty will be enforced at 100% in all events.
Smart Trainer/ Powermeter Requirement?	Yes, riders will need to be paired to a smart trainer or power meter in order to join the event.
Heart Rate monitor required?	Yes, riders will need to pair a heart rate monitor in order to join the event

# **Equipment**

All riders must adhere to the following equipment regulations.

Smart Trainer or Smart Bike	Mandatory
Heart Rate	Mandatory
Power	Dual Recording Mandatory
Cadence	Dual Recording Mandatory

- Primary power and cadence data: must be paired with Zwift game client
- Secondary power and cadence data: must be recorded through a cycling computer.

Riders shall be responsible for ensuring all equipment has the most recent firmware update.



# Appendix A

List of Qualified Riders

Q1 – Zwift GP	
Open	Women
Stuart Miller	Jo Patterson
Jack Morrissey	Murphy DeMeglio
Keane Ryan	
Chris Dawson	
Richard Barry	
Timothy Lane	
Ronan Kileen	

Q2 - CI x RWB Winter Series		
Open	Women	
Colin Clavin	Claire McAvoy	
Liam Dunne	Berdien Driscoll	
Nathan Mullan	Rachel Hardman	
Ian Inglis	Hazel Smyth	
Conor McCarthy		
Tony Farrell		
Thomas Evans		
Sean Lundy		
Gareth Muldowney		
Conor Verbruggen		