R5 John Beggs Memorial Road Race

The John Beggs Memorial Road Race takes the Cycling Ireland National Road Series to Dromore in Northern Ireland on Saturday, August 1st, hosted by Banbridge Cycling Club.

Leaving Dromore High School at 12noon, the 30km circuit takes in several climbs, against a backdrop of the Mourne Mountains, with that notoriously steep finish at Mount Street always looming.

The Men's National Road Series field will travel four laps, completing a 128km test, while the Women's field will travel three for a total of 98km of racing.



Results - Men's John Beggs Memorial Road Race

  1. Mark Dowling - Un-attached
  2. Conor Hennebry - Team Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
  3. Darnell Moore - Team Caldwell Cycles
  4. Angus Fyffe - Team Caldwell Cycles
  5. David Montgomery - Un-attached
  6. James Curry - Team Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
  7. Jody Wright - Phoenix CC
  8. Darragh McCarter - Donegal Bay CC
  9. John Buller - Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  10. Donal Shearer - Phoenix CC
  11. Cian May - Lucan Cycling Road Club
  12. Ronan McLaughlin - Team Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
  13. Craig McAuley - Caldwell Cycles
  14. Marc Potts - Un-attached
  15. Mark McGinley - Four Masters CC
  16. Michael McGlynn - Omagh Wheelers CC
  17. Edvins Silovs - North Tipperary Wheelers
  18. Conor Gallagher - Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services
  19. Bryan Geary - Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  20. Drew McKinley - Newry Wheelers


Results - Women's John Beggs Memorial Road Race

  1. Eve McCrystal - STRATA3 VeloRevolution Racing Team
  2. Maura Claffey - UCD Cycling Club
  3. Katharine Smyth - Ballymena Road Club
  4. Grace Young - STRATA3 VeloRevolution Racing Team
  5. Yvonne Doran - Scott Orwell Wheelers CC
  6. Agnieszka Wozniak - STRATA3 VeloRevolution Racing Team
  7. Nessa Rochford - De Ronde Van Cork CC
  8. Eileen Burns - Ballymena Road Club

John Beggs Memorial Road Race Details

Date: Saturday, August 1st

Venue: Dromore High School

Sign-on: Opens 10am; Closes 11.30am

Start time: Rolling starts from 12noon

Route map: Circuit / Finish 

John Beggs Road Race Map

Race distances:


  • Men's National Road Series A1/A2 - 128km 
  • Women's National Road Series - 98km
  • Supporting A3/Juniors Race - 98km
  • Supporting A4 Race - 68km




  • National Road Series Points First 20
  • National Road Series Team Classification Points First 20
  • First 6 across line
  • First A2
  • First Junior


Follow The National Road Series Live @CINatRoadSeries


Last 20 John Beggs Winners 

Year Winner Team
 2019 Mark Dowling
 2018 Dermot Trulock
Lucan Road Cycling Club
 2017 Adam Stenson
Team BikeWorx
 2016 Conor Hennebry
 2015 Damien Shaw
Team Asea
 2014 Sean McIntyre
Orchard CC
 2013 Fraser Duncan
 2012 Ronan McLaughlin
Sean Kelly An Post
 2011 Martyn Irvine
Giant Kenda
 2010 Roger Aiken
 2009 Martyn Irvine
Curran Racing
 2008 Roger Aiken
Banbridge CC
 2007 Roger Aiken Banbridge CC
 2006 Ryan Connor
Ballymena Road Club
 2005 Ryan Connor
 2004 Tommy Evans
Total Cycling
 2003 Denis Lynch
VCLa Pomme
 2002 Roger Aiken
Banbridge CC
 2001 Keith Gallagher
Orchard Wheelers
 2000 Tommy Evans
Clarkes Nissan

Year Winner Team
 2019 Eve McCrystal
 2018 Lauren Creamer
Brotherton Cycles
 2017 Eve McCrystal
Garda Cycling Club
 2016 Katharine Smyth
Team Madigan
 2015 Orla Montague
Dublin Wheelers
 2014 Lorraine Jeffers
East Tyrone
 2012 Heather Foley
Maryland Wheelers
 2006 Heather Wilson
Maryland Wheelers
 2005 Trudy Brown
Northern Dave Kane
 2004 Frieda Brown
Orchard Wheelers

  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Cycling Superstore
  • Eventmaster
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland