Women's Leagues

Women's Leagues

The 2014 Women’s National League will be fought out over seven rounds, taking in more locations throughout the country than ever before

The 2014 Women’s National League will involve an extensive programme of seven races, held at regular intervals throughout the season.  With the backing of Joe Daly Cycles & Stickybottle.com this year organisers are looking to cement the league’s reputation as the must-win national competition for Ireland’s racing women. Prizes will be awarded at each race to the first six riders. Plus, riders will compete for overall prizes and the league winner will be awarded the prestigious Anne Beehan trophy. This year also sees the addition of a competition for junior riders which will be sponsored by Irish cycling website Sticky Bottle.

The National League was established in 2002 with the aim of attracting more riders to open racing. Since then it has developed into a highly competitive league, attracting the best teams & riders in the country. For 2014 the target will be on further improving the standard of the National League and so that riders can focus their efforts on one league, it has been decided not to run the Women’s Classic League.

National League races usually range from around 50-70km in length. Circuits are usually rolling but not overly hilly. While the races will attract high calibre of riders the National League is the perfect step up for riders who have tried their first local club race or the Corkagh Park Crits and would like to try open racing.

This year organisers have also responded to demands for more races outside the Dublin area. The League returns to Monaghan’s Emyvale to entice the strong contingent of Ulster riders, while several races will take place in the south of the country to attract more racers from Munster. Of course the success of each race, and of the league itself, depends on riders making the commitment to travel to races beyond those in their local area.

The League will once again be sponsored by Joe Daly Cycles. The league owes its growth and success to the continued backing of the Dundrum based store. David Tansey of Joe Daly Cycles says “After the success of the competition in 2013 I’m delighted to renew our support of the National League. It has developed into a highly competitive event which we are once again proud to support”.

  • Round 1: March 16th – Boyne GP
  • Round 2: April 20th – Ros an Laois, Rathdowney, Co. Laois
  • Round 3: May 18th – Emyvale GP, Monaghan
  • Round 4: June 1st – Deenside Cup, Kilkenny
  • Round 5: July 6th – Eddie Tobin Memorial Race, Bunclody. Co. Wexford
  • Round 6: July 27th – Brendan Campbell Memorial, Donore, Co. Louth
  • Round 7: August 23rd – Stafford Wholesale, Wexford
  • training peaks
  • Kukri
  • spin11
  • Event Master
  • mpcc
  • bluecubes
Cycling Ireland, Kelly Roche House, 619 North Circular Road, Dublin1, Ireland
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland