Rás na mBan

Rás na mBan

Rás na mBan (literally Women's Race, pronounced 'raws na mahn') is Ireland's premier women's international stage race. Run over 5 days in September the race currently comprises of 6 stages for a total of almost 400km of top quality racing. The event was voted best competitive event at the 2018 Cycling Ireland annual awards.


Since 2016, Rás na mBan has been centred around the medieval city of Kilkenny, with stages showcasing the beautiful scenery of the surrounding areas, as well as the historic architecture of the city itself. 


The race is specifically designed to give the cream of Irish national and club level women riders an opportunity to compete with quality riders from the rest of Europe and beyond. The 2017 edition welcomed competitors from 19 countries, including the first ever team from the Middle East and riders from as far afield as Australia, New Zealand, the USA and throughout Europe. 


Recent editions have seen current and future Olympic and World Champions, incuding Elinor Barker of Great Britain, Amelie Diderikson of Denmark and Stephanie Pohl of Germany competing for the coveted Pink Jersey of race winner. 

The origins of Rás na mBan date back to 1986, with the John Hearn Memorial Women’s Three Day. Since then Irish racers have taken on international opposition in a series of events that have laid the groundwork for the current five-day event.

Following on from the ground breaking events run in Carrick on Suir, County Tipperary and later by Dublin Wheelers in Dublin and Meath, the Women’s Commission of Cycling Ireland took over promotion of Ireland’s leading women’s stage race with the creation of the two-day, Dublin-based Ras na mBan in 2006. 

With generous support from Louis Moriarty and Sneem Hotel, the race expanded to three days when it moved to a new base in the village of Sneem, Co Kerry in 2008 and in 2011 Rás na mBan further expanded to five days as the event established itself on the international calendar. 

An Post came on board in 2011 as the main title sponsor for Rás na mBan, ensuring the race continued to go from strength to strength. In keeping with the tradition of moving the race around the country, in 2013, the race moved to Ennis, Co Clare for another five-day, six stage feast of top racing action before making the move to Kilkenny in 2016.

Roll of Honour

2018    Carolie Demay, France

2017    Elinor Barker, Great Britain

2016    Rikke Lønne, Denmark

2015    Stephanie Pohl, Germany

2014    Tayler Wiles, USA

2013    Olivia Dillon, Ireland

2012    Kamilla Vallin, Denmark

2011    Olivia Dillon, Ireland

2010    Olivia Dillon, Ireland

2009    Emma Trott, England

2008    Louise Moriarty, Ireland

2007    Marit Huisman, Netherlands

2006    Stephanie Gronow, Germany

2005    Elisabeth Braam, Netherlands

2004    Louise Moriarty, Ireland

2003    Angela Hunter, England

2002    Esther van der Helm, Netherlands

2001    Esther van der Helm, Netherlands

2000    Julie Hooper, England

1999    Louise Jones, England

1998    Claire Moore, Ireland

1997    Susan O’Mara, Ireland

1996    Angela Hunter, England

1995    Helena Kinsella, Ireland

1994    Marie Purvis, Isle of Man

1993    Claire Moore, Ireland

1992    Claire Moore, Ireland

1990    Kim Staff, England

1989    Patricia Anderson, Ireland

1988    Claire Moore, Ireland

1987    Fiona Madden, Ireland

1986    Marie O’Donoghue, Ireland


Visit Official Website
  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Eventmaster
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland