• Home
  • News
  • World Championship Gold for Dunlevy and McCrystal

World Championship Gold for Dunlevy and McCrystal



Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal have won a 3rd World Title in the time trial at the UCI Paracycling World Championships. The pair retained their rainbow jerseys in emphatic style as they averaged 45.612km/h for the 31.2km course, giving them a winning margin of 55 seconds over New Zealand. 


As well as their time trial wins, Dunlevy and McCrystal are the 2017 and 2018 Paracycling Road World Champions. On Saturday morning they added a Silver medal to their collection from the Road Race.


Commenting on the performance, Katie-George Dunlevy said:

“We had form coming into it from our previous results. I believed that we could do it, and I really, really wanted this one. I know Eve did as well.”

“It was really tough out there. It was a flat course and that suited us, but it was a long, hard TT. We fought all the way. I am absolutely delighted to win again.”

Tandem pilot, Eve McCrystal added: 

“I enjoyed it. I could see a few riders ahead of us, so it was nice to have a carrot to push on and win in the end.”

Ronan Grimes was also in action, placing 4th in the MC4 category in a time of 41 minutes 11second, just 33 seconds off the bronze medal. The Galway native is a relative newcomer to cycling but has impressed coaches with his consistent development and transformation into a real medal contender. In the Road Race he battled to a 6th place finish.

Several riders delivered breakthrough performances including Gary O'Reilly who made the final selection and was involved in the sprint finish at his first World Championships Road Race, eventually finishing 6th. In the Time Trial, both Gary and Declan Slevin narrowly missed out on the top 10 or better. The field separated by a matter of seconds after the 20.8-kilometer race against the clock.

Time Trial Results

1st Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal (WB)

4th Ronan Grimes (MC4)

8th Richael Timothy (WC3)

11th Declan Slevin (MH3)

11th Damien Vereker and Paul Forristal (MB)

12th Gary O'Reilly (MH5)

12th Peter Ryan and Seán Hahessy (MB)

16th Chris Burns (MC2)

Road Race Results

2nd Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal (WB)

6th Ronan Grimes (MC4)

6th Gary O'Reilly (MH5)

8th Richael Timothy (WC3)

9th Damien Vereker and Paul Forristal (MB)

18th Declan Slevin (MH3)

DNF Peter Ryan and Seán Hahessy (MB)

DNF Chris Burns (MC2)


Image Gallery Here

Race Results Here

Back to news
  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Eventmaster
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland