• Home
  • News
  • Team Ireland Getting Set For UCI World Road Championships

Team Ireland Getting Set For UCI World Road Championships



The Irish Team begins its bid for glory in the the 2018 UCI Road World Championships in Innsbruck, Austria today. Lara Gillespie is the first of 19 Riders competing across ten events over each of the next seven days.

Gillespie competes in the Women’s Junior Time Trial on Monday morning which begins at Hall Wattens racing over a hilly 20km to the finish at Swarovski Crystal, Innsbruck.

That’s followed by Conn McDunphy and Michael McLoughlin competing in the Men’s Under 23 Time Trial on Monday afternoon.

Eileen Burns and Kelly Murphy compete in the Women’s Elite Time Trial on Tuesday afternoon, 25th September, which follows Aaron Doherty and Ben Healy riding the Men’s Junior Time Trial on the same hilly 27.8km course .

On Wednesday, Nicolas Roche and Ryan Mullen wear green in the Men’s Elite Time Trial over a challenging 52.5km course including the Gladenwald climb.

Road racing begins on Thursday when Lara Gillespie and Maeve Gillespie ride the Women’s Junior event over 71.7km followed by the Men’s Junior Road Race featuring Aaron Doherty, Ben Healy, Breandán Flannagan and Archie Ryan.

On Friday, Eddie Dunbar, Michael O’Loughlin, Matt Teggart, Daire Feeley and Darragh O’Mahony ride the Men’s Under 23 Road Race over a mountainous 179.9km course before Alice Sharpe races on the same circuit as Ireland’s representative in the 156.2km Women’s Elite Road Race on Saturday.

The UCI World Road Championships concludes next Sunday, 30th September with the 258.5km Men’s Road Race Championships when Conor Dunne, Dan Martin, Ryan Mullen and Nicolas Roche race for Ireland.

SCHEDULE (Irish Times):

Monday 24th September

9.30am Junior Women’s TT

Lara Gillespie

1.40pm U23 Men’s TT

Conn McDunphy

Michael O'Loughlin

Tuesday 25th September

9.10am Junior Men’s TT

Aaron Doherty

Ben Healy

1.40pm Elite Women’s TT

Eileen Burns

Kelly Murphy

Wednesday 26th September

1.10pm Elite Men’s TT

Nicolas Roche

Ryan Mullen

Thursday 27th September

8.10am Junior Women’s RR

Lara Gillespie

Maeve Gallagher

1.40pm Junior Men’s RR

Aaron Doherty

Ben Healy

Breandán Flannagan

Archie Ryan

Friday 28th September

11.10am U23 Men’s RR

Eddie Dunbar
Michael O’Loughlin
Matt Teggart
Daire Feeley
Darragh O'Mahony

Saturday 29th September

11.10am Elite Women’s RR

Alice Sharpe

Sunday 30th September

8.40am Elite Men’s RR

Dan Martin

Nico Roche

Conor Dunne

Ryan Mullen

Further Information:

Official Website: https://www.innsbruck-tirol2018.com/en/

CI Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cyclingireland

CI Instagram: @cyclingirelandfed

CI Twitter: @irecyclingfed

CI YouTube: Cycling Ireland

Back to news
  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Eventmaster
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland