• Home
  • News
  • TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: World Road Championship Team

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: World Road Championship Team


Twelve Riders to Compete at the Cycling World Championships in Doha

Cycling Ireland has named twelve riders to compete against the world’s best riders at the UCI 2016 Road World Championships in Doha, Qatar from the 10th – 16th October. The team is a mix of time trial specialists and road riders, who will compete across seven events. Ireland’s elite men’s team will feature Sam Bennett, Ryan Mullen and Matt Brammeier in the Road Race with Mullen and Nicolas Roche competing in the Time Trail. National Champion Anna Turvey will be representing Ireland in the Elite Women’s Time Trial as the sole female representative. This year the World Championships take place three weeks later than usual September date to coincide with lower temperatures and a drier forecast in the Middle East country.

The U23s will have Michael O’Loughlin and Eddie Dunbar flying the flag in both the Time Trial and the Road Race, with Daire Feeley and Matthew Teggart also competing in the Road Race, an event particularly suited to sprinters this year. After an impressive European Track and Road Championships Ireland are entering a young Junior Team with first year juniors Xeno Young and Ronan Tuomey competing in both the Road Race and Time Trial, and Jake Gray also starting in the Road Race.

“Doha will see a lot of fast races”
said Cycling Ireland Technical Director Brian Nugent, who is anticipating a race that will favour the sprinters. “We have selected a team with strong riders across all categories, the profile for the courses are fairly flat, so there should be intense racing, which could come down to bunch sprints. The Time Trial courses will be fast too, and after a strong showing at the European Championships last month, we are hoping for some top performances from the team.”

Racing in Doha begins with the Time Trials from the 10th – 12th October, with the Road Races taking place from the 14th – 16th October.

Elite Men

Sam Bennett (RR)

Matt Brammeier (RR)

Ryan Mullen (RR + TT)

Nicolas Roche (TT)

Elite Women

Anna Turvey (TT)

Jun Men

Jake Gray (RR)

Ronan Tuomey (RR + TT)

Xeno Young (RR +TT)

U23 Men

Eddie Dunbar (RR + TT)

Michael O’Loughlin (RR + TT)

Matthew Teggart (RR)

Daire Feeley (RR)





10th October


Men’s U23 TT

Michael O’Loughlin

Eddie Dunbar

11th October


Men’s Jun TT 28.9km

Xeno Young

Ronan Tuomey

11th October


Women’s Elite TT 28.9km

Anna Turvey

12th October


Men’s Elite TT 40km

Ryan Mullen

Nicolas Roche

13th October


Men’s U23 RR 166km

Eddie Dunbar

Michael O’Loughlin

Matthew Teggart

Daire Feeley

14th October


Men’s Jun RR 135.5km

Jake Gary

Ronan Tuomey

Xeno Young

16th October


Men’s Elite RR 257.5km

Sam Bennett

Matt Brammeier

Ryan Mullen

Nicolas Roche

Back to news
  • training peaks
  • Kukri
  • spin11
  • Event Master
  • mpcc
  • bluecubes
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland