• Home
  • News
  • TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: European Road Cycling Championships 2017

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: European Road Cycling Championships 2017

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: European Road Cycling Championships 2017

Cycling Ireland has named the team for the 2017 European Road Cycling Championships, which takes place in Herning, Denmark, from the 2nd – 6th August. Seventeen of Ireland’s fastest cyclists will compete across the Elite Men, Elite Women, U23 and Junior Men’s categories, with fast tempo racing promised, thanks to a flat route in both the Road Race and Time Trial.

The Time Trials take place first, with European Silver medallist in the Individual Pursuit, Xeno Young, competing on Wednesday 2nd August in the Junior Men’s Time Trial, along with Ben Walsh. On Thursday three Irish National Champions will be in action, with Eileen Burns, Michael O’Loughlin and Ryan Mullen testing themselves on the fast course. Pocket Rocket Eddie Dunbar rounds off what will be a strong entry for Ireland in the Time Trial events.

Attention will turn to the Road Races on Friday 4th, with all riders, bar one, competing on the flat 20km looped race. Cycling Ireland Technical Director Brian Nugent expects fast racing in the road races:

“The courses for both the Road Race and TT are very fast, with a few technical corners included in the Road Race in around the town. They are good courses for the teams we have selected. The Road Races should come to a bunch sprint, or a sprint from a fairly large group. We have strong riders in all the categories and are expecting to do well here.”

Ireland’s Road Racing team includes National Road Champions Lydia Boylan, Ryan Mullen and Michael O’Loughlin, with sprint specialist Sam Bennett also named on the Elite Men’s team. The championships take place in Herning, Denmark, from Wednesday 2nd – Sunday 6th August.

SCHEDULE (Irish Times)





2nd August Wed 11.45

Men’s Junior 31.5km TT

Ben Walsh 

Xeno Young

3rd August Thurs 8.30

Thurs 11.15

Thurs 14.00

Elite Women’s 31.5km TT

U23 Men’s 31.5km TT

Elite Men’s 46km TT

Eileen Burns

Eddie Dunbar

Michael O’Loughlin

Ryan Mullen

4th August Fri 15.00

Junior Men’s 120.6km RR

John Buller

Aaron Doherty

Patrick Doogan

Ben Walsh

Xeno Young

5th August Sat 8.00

Sat 13.00

U23 Men’s 160.8km RR

Elite Women’s 120.6km RR

Eddie Dunbar

Daire Feeley

Michael O’Loughlin

Darragh O’Mahoney

Matthew Teggart

Lydia Boylan

6th August

Sun 10.00

Elite Men’s 241.2km RR

Sam Bennett

Matt Brammeier

Sean McKenna

Ryan Mullen

Damien Shaw

Back to news
  • training peaks
  • Kukri
  • spin11
  • Event Master
  • mpcc
  • bluecubes
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 PN0N
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland