• Home
  • News
  • RESULTS: National TT Championships 2017

RESULTS: National TT Championships 2017

RESULTS: National TT Championships 2017

Mullen and Burns Dominate Elite Categories and Rio Paralympians Shine at National Champs

The National Time Trial Championships took place in the serene setting of Johnstown Estate Castle in Wexford tonight, with seven National Titles up for grabs.


The Elite Men’s race was a hard-fought battle with Ryan Mullen of Cannondale taking the championships jersey 15 seconds ahead of defending champion, Nicholas Roche (BMC). Marcus Christie (Performance SBR) rounded off the podium with bronze.

Speaking after the race Mullen was happy with his performance, likening the course to the Paris-Roubaix saying - “I went out there this morning and felt good, and I went out there and did my best forty-minute power that I’ve ever done so it went pretty well”

Ballymena RC’s Eileen Burns took the victory in the Elite Women’s race ahead of Kelly Murphy (Team Ford Ecoboost) and Eve McCrystal (Garda CC). After finishing just outside the medals last year, the time trial specialist enjoyed stepping on the top step of the podium today.

“It was quite an enjoyable course, with a bit of everything. This year it was polar opposite to how I felt after last year’s race” said Burns.

In the U23 category Michael O’Loughlin (Team Wiggins) stormed home a minute clear of Team Raleigh’s Conn McDunphy, with Eddie Dunbar in bronze position, having suffered a mechanical on the course. Fresh from competing in the An Post Rás followed by the baby Giro, the talented young rider was happy to retain his title.

“The course was quite different to most races we do, it was fast early on, and there was a strong tailwind back. Mullen passed me with 8km to go – I tried to keep him in sight at least, and that gave me a better time at the end.”

Handcyclist Declan Slevin (Rosemount) made it three in a row in the Handcycling event ahead of local rider Seamus Wall (Barrow Wheelers), with Darrell Erwin (Ballymena RC) snatching bronze.

Slevin felt good after the race “It was a tough course on the way out, very hard to guage it. You are down trying to get in an aero position and gain every second you can.”

Paralympic silver medallist Colin Lynch (Manchester CC) took the Paracycling solo bike title and was happy to get the title, despite a mechanical – “On the way back I blew my rear wheel, but I was able to get a new wheel and keep going. I haven’t felt good in a while, and it’s really nice to be back racing in Ireland.”

In the Paracycling Tandem event Paralympic Champion Katie-George Dunlevy teamed up with Katharine Smyth, to take gold ahead of fellow Paralympians Damien Vereker, who was piloted by Ian Inglis, and Peter Ryan and Dermot Radford. The Tandem title was won by Vereker and Inglis, silver by Ryan and Radford, and bronze by Dunlevy and Smyth – in this category factored times did not apply.

The attention now moves to road racing with the M40, M50 and M60 races taking place on Saturday. Sunday will be host to the Under 23s and Elite Men’s race at 11:00 AM. The Elite Women’s race will also take place on the Sunday at the same time. More informational available at: http://www.roadchamps.irish/



Elite Men:

Gold Ryan Mullen (Cannondale) 40:48.82

Silver Nicholas Roche (BMC) 41:02.27

Bronze Marcus Christie (Performance SBR) 43:17.09

Elite Women:

Gold Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) 49:16.46

Silver Kelly Murphy (Team Ford Ecoboost) 49:29.59

Bronze Eve McCrystal (Garda CC) 49:59.76

U23 Men:

Gold: Michael O’Loughlin (Team Wiggins) 43:17.82

Silver: Conn McDunphy (Team Raleigh) 44:17.79

Bronze: Eddie Dunbar (Axion Cycling) 45:23.95

Paracycling Tandem (Male and Female – Factored Times):

Gold: Katie-George Dunlevy & Katharine Smyth

Silver: Damien Vereker & Ian Inglis

Bronze: Peter Ryan & Dermot Radford

Tandem Championships (Male and Female – unfactored times)

Gold: Damien Vereker & Ian Inglis

Silver: Peter Ryan & Dermot Radford

Bronze: Katie-George Dunlevy & Katharine Smyth

Paracycling Solo Bikes (Male and Female – Factored Times):

Gold: Colin Lynch (Manchester CC) 37:07:00 C2

Silver: Cathal Miller (Clontarf CC) 39:55:00 C5

Bronze: Ronan Grimes (Scott Orwell Wheelers) 40:11:00 C4

Paracycling Handcycling Bikes (Male and Female – Factored Times):

Gold: Declan Slevin (Rosemount CC) 45:37:00 H3

Silver: Seamus Wall (Barrow Wheelers) 51:05:00 H4

Bronze: Darrell Erwin (Ballymena RC) 56:05:00 H3

Back to news
  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland