• Home
  • News
  • RESULTS: National Masters Road Championships

RESULTS: National Masters Road Championships

RESULTS: National Masters Road Championships

Aggressive Racing and Three National Titles in the Masters Event in Wexford

Today Wexford hosted the Irish Senior National Cycling Championship in association with The Talbot Collection where the M40’s, M50’s and M60’s fought for the National Title.

In the M40’s race a four-man break away took off on the last lap and held out until a fast finish John Hodge (Dungarven CC) took the gold. Paul McCarter (Donegal Bay CC) took silver and Anthony Doyle (Strata 3 Velo Revolution) claimed bronze.

“There was a lot of attacks and chasing down, and nothing got away. In the last lap four riders went and the gap just held.”
John Hodge said.

For the M50’s there was an early three-man breakaway that managed to stay away for the whole race. Greg Swinand (Aqua Blue Acedemy) raced to claim gold. Des Woods (Newry Wheelers) came over the line second wining silver followed by Tom Shanahan (Limerick CC) taking bronze.

“A lot of guys were going well. Des was going very strong, he attacked on the last hill. They had me on the ropes from there so I decided I would ride for the sprint.”
Swinand said.

Sean McIlroy (Panduitcarrig Wheelers) took the win in the M60’s after an attack in closing kilometres making of 20 seconds, which by the line had become seven seconds. In second place Tom Henry (North Down CC) claiming silver and Pat Halpin (Swords CC) taking third.

“I tried too hard for the first few laps. Then I said I would hold off for the last lap and make one good effort. I made a gap of 20 seconds, but it was seven seconds by the line.”
Said Sean McIlroy.

Now attention turns to the Senior Men, U23 Men and Elite Women’s tomorrow where the men and women will ride the circuit for the National Championship titles.

We hear from race director Derek Webb here: 

M40 Men:


John Hodge (Dungarvan CC)

Silver Paul McCarter (Donegal Bay CC)

Bronze Anthony Doyle (Strata 3 – VeloRevolution)

M50 Men:

Greg Swinand (Aqua Blue Academy)

Silver Des Woods (Newry Wheelers)

Bronze Tom Shanahan (Limerick CC)

M60 Men:

Sean McIlroy (Panduit Carrick Wheelers)

Silver Tom Henry (North Down CC)

Bronze Pat Halpin (Swords CC)

Back to news
  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland