• Home
  • News
  • Membership Awards: Club of the Year

Membership Awards: Club of the Year

What club do you believe deserves the award for club of the year?

Our clubs are the backbone to our community, and play a crucial role in the development and progression of the sport. The below nominations have been submitted by Cycling Ireland Provinces and Commissions.

Blarney Cycling Club
Ireland’s oldest cycling club is also still one of the country’s best. The Cork club catersfor everyone from racers to sportive riders to people who just want to cycle for fun and to improve their fitness. For the past six years they have been running a leg of the Paracycling Invacare Time Trial League. They also organise special time trials for young and beginner athletes with disabilities in advance of the league event.

Carn Wheelers
Carn Wheelers is a relatively new club from Maghera, County Derry which takes in members of all levels and cycles road, mountain biking and cyclocross. The club has quickly become one of the best in Ulster and this year they have been involved in promoting a number of events including an excellent Irish Masters/Junior TT Champs and A3/Junior RR Champs. The club also entered a team in the Rás Tailteann this season.

Courtown BMX Club
Wexford’s only BMX club had an excellent 2017 and continues to be amongst the premier BMX clubs in Ireland. The club has flourished with its own national standard track which has hosted a number of BMX Irish National Series Races during the year. A new committee took over at Courtown in early 2017, and despite not having much experience, they have hit the ground running.

Cuchulainn CC

Winner of Cycling Ireland Club of the Year in 2010 and 2012, Dundalk’s Cuchulainn CC is one of Ireland’s biggest clubs with over 300 members. The club is involved in all types of cycling and has had a great year, hosting a round of the cross-country National Point Series (NPS), their popular Da Cooley Thriller, as well as their club road race and mountain bike series. They are also currently in the middle of a 12-round cyclocross series.

Emyvale CC
Throughout its 70 years Emyvale CC has promoted a range of Irish Championship events across all categories, from youth to senior. The Monaghan club is also a generous contributor to charity, having donated over €20,000 to charities to date. Every year the club promotes excellent road races, with over 200 participants across the categories.

Killarney Cycling Club

Killarney Cycling Club is nominated as a result of their phenomenal work with youth and women's cycling. Their youth cycling academy programme has attracted increasing numbers while the club has also actively encouraged girls track racing amongst its membership. The club has managed to push the sport forward significantly for everyone in Killarney and the surrounding area.

Sundrive Track Team
Now in its ninth year of existence the Eamonn Ceannt Cycling Stadium based team has already experienced huge success in its short lifetime. With members also involved road, mountain biking and off-road, the club has helped engage many of the local youth in cycling. Members are also consistently available to help organise all the various events which the Track Commission run every year.

Wexford Cycling
This is an amalgamation of a number of clubs in southeast, and has close to 100 members catering for both leisure and competitive cyclists. As the primary club behind the 2017 National Road Championship they have worked extremely hard to provide an exciting championship race programme. An event of this scale requires total commitment from all club members and their work was done in a professional manner.
Back to news
  • training peaks
  • Kukri
  • spin11
  • Event Master
  • mpcc
  • bluecubes
Cycling Ireland, Kelly Roche House, 619 North Circular Road, Dublin1, Ireland
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland