• Home
  • News
  • McGlinchey and Claffey win inaugural Cycling Ireland Zwift League

McGlinchey and Claffey win inaugural Cycling Ireland Zwift League


Chris McGlinchey (Vitus Pro Cycling Team) and Maura Claffey (UCD Cycling / Team on Form) topped the standings after 12 rounds in the Cycling Ireland Zwift League.

The Cycling Ireland Zwift League started on March 29th and grew into Ireland’s largest sporting event throughout the Covid-19 pandemic with over 1,800 registered participants. McGlinchey, an avid Zwift racer won 8 of the 9 rounds he started, a technical glitch denying him a clean sweep. With only the best 8 results to count he took a comfortable victory, not unsurprising considering he is one of the top ranked riders worldwide according to Zwift Power.

Maura Claffey waited until round 4 to test herself in the world of eRacing but adapted quickly and went to on win 7 of the 8 events she finished. Shannon Kelly was a consistent performer throughout the series claiming a win in round 1 and again in round 11, her total of 72 points placing her in second. Eileen Burns of Ballymena Road Club finished 3rd on 52 points.

The men’s ‘A’ category podium places were hard fought, but it was Darren Dunne (Nenagh Cycling Club) who claimed 2nd followed by Jonathan Caulfield (Castlebar Cycling Club) in 3rd on 56 points.

The innovation of segregated start waves for B, C and D racers made for exciting racing across all the different categories, numerous power bests were set despite the lockdown. Dermot O’Donnell claimed top honours in the ‘B’ category along with Ella Doherty. The ‘C’ title was won by Ross Blayney and Johanna Rogan while the ‘D’ title went to Philip Keohan and Armelle Mangan.

Cycling Ireland’s technical clothing sponsor, Spin11 have designed an exclusive Cycling Ireland Zwift League champions jersey for male and female winners across the four categories.

Club Competition

Greenmount CA won the 3-person club competition with a total haul of 200 points ahead of Quanta Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club and Ballymena Road Club. Greenmount had up to 18 riders competing each weekend helping to score points for the club and preventing order clubs from getting on the scoreboard. Ella Doherty, Sharon Kennedy, and David Guerin were the top points scorers however it was truly a club effort.

Cycling Ireland Women’s League

The Cycling Ireland Women’s Only League was held every Wednesday and provide a popular mid-week racing option. Angela Lang of Quanta Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club got off to a flying start and wrapped the league up after just 5 rounds, winning 4 on the bounce. Fiona Mangan (Greenmount CA) was 2nd with Lang’s clubmate Carthach McCarthy in 3rd.

Sharon Kennedy won gold in the ‘B’ category, Kathrina Davis was the top ‘C’ category finisher and Sandra McCann finished with maximum points in the ‘D’ category.

Congratulations to everyone who participated in Cycling Ireland’s virtual and online events. The Cycling Ireland World Classics continue, and we will be back with more exciting racing action shortly.


Cycling Ireland eRacing Results HERE

Back to news
  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Cycling Superstore
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland