• Home
  • News
  • Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2019

Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2019

Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2019

  Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2019

The Route for Kerry Group Rás Mumhan has been announced today. The first major Stage Race of the Irish Cycle Racing season will take place over the 4 days of Easter weekend,  April 19th  to April 22nd.

The format of the race will remain the same with the 4 road stages, the same as last year., their will be a slight change in the last 10 km on Day 1.   The 500 km route, which is again long and hard, will start on Good Friday,   and finish four days later on Easter Monday Morning.


Stage 1. Good Friday. 19/4/19  100km. Starting at 2.50pm  and finishing back in Killorglin at 5.25pm ,  this stage  takes in Killarney,  Kilcummin,  Scartaglin, Castleisland, Currans, Ballyfinnane, Firies, Castlemaine, Milltown, the route to the finish will now be on the new road to Killorglin after Milltown, which only opens to traffic this week, the KOH here will be a stiffer climb, and will be only 5km from the finish  and  is sure to impact on the stage result.   The  Category 2 Climb at Knocknaboul  at the half way point on narrow winding roads is the feature of the stage.


Stage 2.  Easter Saturday. 20/4/19. 130KM.   11.00am Start.  Listowel, in North Kerry, is the starting point again for this tough hard stage, which will finish in the village of Athea in West Limerick after 130km of undulating roads. The stage is built for the real strong men, with a number of category 2 and 3 climbs.  The route will take the riders from Listowel to Ballylongford, Tarbert, along the coast road to Glin,  then up the hill out of Athea for the first of three times, through Carrigkerry and turn left at Ardagh. The race will again turn left before Shanagolden, through Ballyhahill to Glin. From there it is on to Athea, then a 40km finishing circuit through Carrigkerry , Ballyhahill and Glin for the third  time before finishing up the hill out of Athea at 2.20pm  


Stage 3. Easter Sunday. 21/4/19. 155km.  11.30am Start. This is our annual day in South Kerry, with a series of loops once described by Irish Cycling Legend Phillip Cassidy as “the finest road racing stage in Ireland”. The fact that it includes the Category 1 Climb at Coom An Easpaig only adds to the intrigue. This will come at the 130km point of  a 155 km route that also includes 6 other climbs, including the climb on Valentia Island. This will surely see the strong men come forward for final destination of the overall title. However, it is far enough from the finish to allow non-climbers to make up some of the time lost on the ascent. The stage starts and finishes in Waterville. The route is Waterville, Ballinskelligs, Valentia, Cahirsiveen, Dromid, New Chapel Cross, Portmagee, Coom An Easpaigh, The Glen, and on to the Finish in Waterville at 3.30pm   


Stage 4. Easter Monday. 22/4/19. 115km  The final day is mostly a flat stage, starting and finishing in Killorglin. with the usual sting in the tail. The 25km loop through Beaufort is covered 3 times and then it is on to the final 10 laps of the town circuit  and up the hill each time to add a further 40 km, a total of 115km. The crowd that turned up last year to witness this stage was huge and brought a great atmosphere to Killorglin. There will again be a major change to arrangements for the laps of the Donal McKenna finishing circuit on Easter Monday morning. Riders that are 3m:30s down on the leaders will be withdrawn from the circuit. They will be credited with a finishing time appropriate to the lap they were removed at. This amendment will greatly facilitate the ease of movement of motor traffic in Killorglin and contribute significantly to race safety.




The Team structure is the same as last year.  Teams will consist of 5 riders. Priority for engagement to the start list will be given to teams with the highest number of A1 riders. Teams may not contain more than two A3 riders.

A  maximum of 40 teams will make up the field. 



Entries are open on Monday 11th March  and close on Monday 25th  March, or earlier if the entry list is full.



Full details of  Kerry Group Rás Mumhan on   www.rasmumhan.com.

Facebook  Kerry Group Ras Mumhan            Twitter  @rasmumhan

For further information please contact:

Mary Concannon   Race Secretary/Organizer       00353 87 2802071    maryconcannon15@ gmail.com

                                                                               00353 64 6644396

Tadhg Moriarty      Race Director/Press Officer     00353 87 2443360   moriartytadhg1@gmail.com

Kerry Group          Padraig Mallon                         00353 66 7182309    padraig.mallon@kerry.ie

Back to news
  • training peaks
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • Event Master
  • see sense
  • bluecubes
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland