• Home
  • News
  • Colin Lynch to Represent Para-cycling on UCI Athletes’ Commission

Colin Lynch to Represent Para-cycling on UCI Athletes’ Commission

Colin Lynch to Represent Para-cycling on UCI Athletes’ Commission

Storey and Lynch were chosen from a list of eight candidates - three men and five women - by athletes participating in the Championships.

Storey and Lynch obtained 31.81% and 50.75% of the votes respectively.

Of the athletes competing in Pietermaritzburg, 55.17% took part in the vote. Para-cyclists who competed at the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Los Angeles (USA) in March but who were not present in Pietermaritzburg had the opportunity to vote electronically.

Members of the Commission are elected for a four-year mandate running from the UCI Congress in 2017 to the Congress in 2021.

This weekend’s election is part of the renewal of all UCI Commissions in 2017.

Other athletes already elected onto the UCI Athletes’ Commission are Laura Smulders (the Netherlands) and Liam Phillips (Great Britain) for BMX, Kristina Vogel (Germany) and Kenny De Ketele (Belgium) for track cycling, and Katerina Nash (Czech Republic) and Simon Zahner (Switzerland) for cyclo-cross.

This year, the UCI has decided to increase the representation of its various disciplines on the UCI Athletes' Commission by modifying its electoral system.

This new voting system will see the UCI Athletes' Commission grow from 13 to 20 members, with a perfect Men/Women balance across all disciplines.

In line with the election method of the Athletes' Commission of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), which elects its members at each Olympic Games, elections of the two representatives from each discipline will take place every four years at the UCI World Championships of the relevant discipline.

The mission of the UCI Athletes’ Commission is to:

According to the Commission's terms of reference, the President of the UCI Athletes' Commission is elected by his/her peers and is co-opted onto the UCI Management Committee, the executive body of the Federation which operates under the authority of the Congress. In addition, one representative on the Athletes' Commission from each discipline automatically becomes a member of the Commission of his/her discipline, and therefore represents the athletes on that Commission.

  • present the UCI Management Committee with a wide range of considerations in order
    to improve the role of athletes in all disciplines;
  • promote/improve the respect and rights of athletes across all forms of cycling and in all disciplines;
  • promote ethics and all fair play rules inherent to the practice of cycling at all levels;
  • provide a direct link with the UCI Management Committee for major events;
  • inform athletes of the range of professional training available to them during and after
    their sporting careers;
  • act as ambassadors and role models for all disciplines and at all levels.

The renewal of the UCI Athletes' Commission, with wider representation of disciplines, comes a year after the Commission was overhauled - one of the key commitments of Brian Cookson, since taking up the UCI Presidency in 2013.


Number of votes


Matthew Bigos (USA)



Tobias Fankhauser (SUI)



Colin Lynch (IRL)




Number of votes


Greta Neimanas (USA)



Allison Jones (USA)



Carol Cooke (AUS)



Svetlana Moshkovich (RUS)



Sarah Storey (GBR)



Back to news
  • Gym Coffee
  • Kinetica Sports
  • wahoofitness
  • spin11
  • training peaks
  • see sense
  • Renault Retail Group
  • sports travel international
Cycling Ireland, The Clockhouse, National Sports Campus, Snugborough Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 CXC2
Tel: +353 (1) 8551522      Fax: +353 (1) 8551771      Contact Us

© 2018 Cycling Ireland. All rights reserved
Privacy Policy       Terms Of Use       Sitemap

Web Design by bluecubes
back to top cycling ireland